GlutenFreePSD

Product Reviews, Restaurant Reviews and Recipes: All GLUTEN FREE!

A Gleeful Recipe: GLUTEN FREE Fantasy Breadsticks

Breadsticks

This recipe was provided in my February “Crate of Nothing”. I was surprised that I would receive mixtures and have to make something myself but when I got around to making these Breadstick, I was impressed how easy it was, as well as how tasty the end product was. I will certainly be trying this again with some variations!

Ingredients:

  • 100g Cornflour
  • 50g Potato Flour
  • 100g Brown Rice Flour
  • 1 and half tsp. Dried Yeast
  • Half tsp. Xanthan Gum
  • 1 tbsp. sugar
  • Half tsp. Salt
  • 50g Dairy Free Spread
  • 180ml Tepid Water

(lucky for me that most of the above was measured out and provided in small sachets /bags ready to be used.)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 190 Degree and line a baking tray with parchment paper. (I used two trays and only half of the mix, so it does make lots and lots of Breadsticks!)
  2. Mix all the flours in a bowl along with the yeast, xanthan gum, sugar, salt and mix until it is evenly distributed.
  3. Add the dairy free spread and mix until it resembles breadcrumbs
  4. Add tepid water to the mix, in batches, until the mix comes together like a thick cake batter. Beat together until most of the lumps are removed.
  5. Using a piping bag, transfer the mixture and thinly pipe straight lines on the parchment paper.
  6. Brush with olive oil or sunflower oil and season with salt and pepper. I found it easier to use a oil spray over the whole tray as brushing the thin strips was not effective.
  7. Bake in the oven for 10 minutes, until golden brown and eat!

Crate of Nothing Instructions

Mel, AKA Pig In The Kitchen produced this recipe for “Crate of Nothing” and can be followed: http://www.piginthekitchen.co.uk/ and on twitter @piginthekitchen

Results:
Hot from the oven

Really impressed with the results as the thin breadsticks did rise a little and definitely were yummy. They had a great snap on them and with the little seasoning (pepper at one end and salt at the other) I think they looked quite stylish. After my initial shock at this GLUTEN FREE treat from my “Crate of Nothing” I have to say, I am looking forward to trying a new recipe as in my March Box, there is a Chocolate Brownie Recipe which I will make. Whilst I made two trays of breadsticks, that was only from half of the mixture. Of course, with “live” yeast in the mixture, it did start to expand and grow so it does need to be made in one large batch.

To store, rest in an air-tight container although these didn’t last that long as they were yummy!

My February “Crate of Nothing” parcel contained a good selection of GLUTEN FREE and DAIRY FREE foods. They provide me with a novel way of trying new and exciting foods knowing my food allergies are catered for at £20 per box. http://crateofnothing.co.uk/

Crate of nothing Feb 2014

 

2 comments on “A Gleeful Recipe: GLUTEN FREE Fantasy Breadsticks

  1. Pingback: Product Review: Award Winning (Gluten Free) Lemon Drizzle Loaf by Melisie Jane Bakes | GlutenFreePSD

  2. Pingback: Product Review: Award Winning (Gluten Free) Focaccia Mediterranea by Focaccia Per Tutti | GlutenFreePSD

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow GlutenFree PSD and receive notifications of all my new posts by email.

