GlutenFreePSD

Product Reviews, Restaurant Reviews and Recipes: All GLUTEN FREE!

Travelling Gluten Free in Hong Kong

On holiday in Hong Kong, I managed to find and enjoy some exciting GLUTEN FREE Meals. Not all were to my exact taste but all were different from my regular meals and part of my holiday:

Eating at DISNEYLAND HONG KONG:

I had emailed their customer relations in an attempt to understand what I could eat when I visited the theme park, primarily because in the USA for Disneyworld and Disneyland (California), they are very clear and up-front about food allergies and I found very little online about Disneyland Hong Kong. My emails were promptly answered although sometimes they didn’t understand my question and offered for me to bring my own food into the park and they would find a suitable dining room for me to enjoy (which would have been lovely but not what I had asked!).

GLUTEN FREE Lunch (Chicken & Chips) @Main Street Corner Café in Disneyland Hong Kong.

GLUTEN FREE Lunch (Chicken & Chips) @Main Street Corner Café in Disneyland Hong Kong.

(Kids) Salmon Dinner from Explorers Restaurant with side dish of Satay Chicken.

(Kids) Salmon Dinner from Explorers Restaurant with side dish of Satay Chicken.

Disneyland Hong Kong: Explorers Club Restaurant showing plastic food on display and large area for queuing.

Disneyland Hong Kong: Explorers Club Restaurant showing plastic food on display and large area for queuing.

Whilst I was able to find some GLUTEN FREE snacks (Turkey Leg, Corn on the Cob, Fresh Fruit Salad, Mango Sherbet Bar, Orange Ice Bar), I was nervous about trying different foods as I could not read the labels (which are largely in Chinese with a sticker with some English language) although the staff were helpful up to a point.


HOT WET NOODLES:

Staying in Kowloon wandered the streets near the Star Ferry Terminal and around Nathan Road, and found an interesting looking noodle bar. It seemed, despite the language difference that if we could fill in the “order form” we would get what we wanted even if we don’t speak any Chinese!

Order Form: just need to tick the right boxes.

Order Form: just need to tick the right boxes.

Wet noodle soup (although very spicy and too sour for my western taste buds!)

Wet noodle soup (although very spicy and too sour for my western taste buds!)

Good to try something new although I had ticked the “normal sour” box, it was very sour for my taste. It was also very spicy even though I had ticked the “very little spicy” box which perhaps again, is too spicy for me but a delicious GLUTEN FREE meal (if only it hadn’t been so so spicy!)


FROZEN ICE-DESSERT:

“Let it Go!” a delicious ice-dessert made up of shaved ice pieces and covered in sugary sweet fruit pieces and syrup: a winning dessert found in one of the Shopping Malls in Kowloon. This is a dessert which we saw quite a few times but only tried it one: with mango.

Ice-Dessert with lots of mango (so healthy and refreshing).

Ice-Dessert with lots of mango (so healthy and refreshing).


TRADITIONAL DIM SUM:

Unfortunately, whilst we were travelling in Hong Kong, it was a national holiday and so thousands of people hit the streets. We had visions of trying the famous Dim Sum trolleys at City Hall but didn’t manage to get around there so stopped off by the escalators and found a Shanghai Dim Sum restaurant.

Beautiful Dim Sum (although rather expensive for my luxurious plum pork with buns).

Beautiful Dim Sum (although rather expensive for my luxurious plum pork with buns).

The waiter wasn’t sure about the crackers so I didn’t have them, but the honey pork was beautiful and rich.


MANA’S

Catering for Vegans, Vegetarians and those with food allergies with wraps and sandwiches in a Central Hong Kong location. This venue was easy to find, just off the central Escalators although finding seating in this busy venue was a little chaotic. There was a good selection of fillings for the wraps (all non-meat) and a variety of healthy drinks for sale. Even on a public holiday, this place was busy although not everyone was ordering /eating there.

Menus and fillings at MANA, Central Hong Kong.

Menus and fillings at MANA, Central Hong Kong.


JAPANESE RICE BASED PIZZAS: TOI HOKKAIDO

An unusual dinner choice but one that really excited me when I was looking for GLUTEN FREE meals in Hong Kong: Pizzas made out of rice! Yes no dough, no bread but rice based in the iSquare Shopping Centre ! Sounds strange and different and they certainly are:

Napkin from Toi Hokkaido

Napkin from Toi Hokkaido

My Pizza (with a rice base and no GLUTEN in sight!)

My Pizza (with a rice base and no GLUTEN in sight!)

No dough or bread but compacted rice which sticks together with the cheese and topping (chicken).

No dough or bread but compacted rice which sticks together with the cheese and topping (chicken & mango).

The pizza was tasty and delicious, if somewhat strange not to have any tangy tomato sauce on the rice base. The cheese makes the rice stick together but it does easily break up and whilst it was a different main course, it became a little boring and dull after a few “slices” but a Good GLUTEN FREE meal!


 

GLUTEN FREE Breakfast @SHERATON HOTEL, HONG KONG:

I was pleased to see the Sheraton Hotel  had GLUTEN FREE bread in a separate storage box in amongst the buffet tables in the main Breakfast restaurant for the hotel guests. I didn’t toast my bread as they had only one toaster (continuous grill so I was concerned about crumb cross contamination) but there was a good selection of breakfast items to choose from including an egg station as well hot and cold items.

My Breakfast plate at Sheraton with GF Bread!

My Breakfast plate at Sheraton with GF Bread!

GF Bread held separately but available @Sheraton Hotel, Hong Kong.

GF Bread held separately but available @Sheraton Hotel, Hong Kong.


GLUTEN FREE BREAKFAST @MARCO POLO HOTEL, HONG KONG.

Interestingly, I expected Gluten Free bread at the Marco Polo Hotel, staying on the Club Floor (where there is a small but “exclusive” dining room for Club guests). They did bring me up some Gluten Free bread for breakfast and I did have it toasted and it was lovely, smothered with butter.

GF Breakfast at Marco Polo Hotel

GF Breakfast at Marco Polo Hotel

 


 

 

2 comments on “Travelling Gluten Free in Hong Kong

  1. myjourneythrume
    November 5, 2015

    Hi, I’m changing planes in Hong Kong next week, we won’t have time to leave the airport sadly but I wondered how you found the airport? Did you find any good gluten free options there? Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks! Jess

    • glutenfreepsd
      November 11, 2015

      Lucky for me, I was able to use the Qantas Lounge (and surprisingly found some GLUTEN FREE options although they’re not as good as BA with their labels). Check out my posting about the lounge on my blog. Apart from some fairly standard food offerings with restrictions, such as McDonald’s Burger and fries (without the bun), I would probably opt for a healthy snack (fruit bowls, dried fruit or nuts) and make sure you order a GF meal for your journey.

      I always travel with lots of GF Food (such as boxed savoury biscuits as well as sweet biscuits and snacks) so that I will not suffer. And on some airlines, it helps to have your own stocks with you. (For example, in Business Class, as well as cakes with GLUTEN, they will usually have a cheese & cracker options but with wholemeal or wheat crackers: so if you carry your own crackers, you can enjoy a course after the dinner. I find that crackers are more substantial than rice cakes: which seem to be the universally accepted alternative for GF bread!).

      Happy flying!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow GlutenFree PSD and receive notifications of all my new posts by email.

