Product Reviews, Restaurant Reviews and Recipes: All GLUTEN FREE!
From my previous posting about Gluten Free Chocolate Bars, it is timely to refresh my research as Manufacturers regularly change their recipes and ingredient listings, so there is even more choice for GLUTEN FREE chocolates than ever before… It’s just knowing what choices you have…
Can I have any chocolate bars if you’ve a Gluten Intolerance or Gluten Allergy? Of course you can, it’s just knowing which ones have no GLUTEN ingredients in their mix and which state they “may contain wheat”
Since my posting in February 2014, Cadburys have adjusted their ingredients listings and added a few further chocolate bars to their GLUTEN ABSENT range:
The following bags of chocolate are GLUTEN ABSENT!
Strangely Cadburys talk about Gluten Absent products rather than GLUTEN FREE! If you look online, they have a menu board which if you select the “gluten Absent”, it shows you their current range of products.
Nestle produce a very comprehensive listing of products which are suitable for people avoiding Gluten. This has been updated (July 2014) and is the current latest version of this information but it is updated regularly and they have added further chocolate options since I reviewed their offerings last. Nestle gluten avoidance list vJULY 2014 (1)
On their website they give a good explanation to their Gluten Avoidance listing. This highlights products that do not “contain wheat, barley, oats, rye or any added gluten”.
The following Aero branded bars are GLUTEN FREE:
The following two varieties of Wonka do not contain GLUTEN ingredients in them:
Only one ROLO product is deemed by Nestle to be GLUTEN FREE:
The Animal Bar is GLUTEN FREE.
The following MilkyBar branded products are GLUTEN FREE:
CHOCOLATE BOXES (by Nestle):
The following Chocolate Boxes (rather than bars) which are GLUTEN FREE from Nestle include:
Mars provide good information on their website by individual brand and by product which shows the nutrition, GDAs, Allergens, Dietary Suitability and Ingredients. It is not as straight-forwards in selecting GF options but with some effort you can understand which ones are for you. For example, I learnt Twix Bars contain Gluten (Wheat) and may contain Barley and Oats as well whereas Snicker Bars contain no Gluten but I can’t eat them because they also include peanuts (expected), soya beans, Egg (not expected!), Milk and Lactose! Another oddity I learned was Milky Way Magic Stars are GLUTEN FREE but regular Milk Way Bars are NOT!
The following Bars are GLUTEN FREE:
Mars have a lot of bars which we cannot eat which means some Big Brands we have to avoid: Revels, Topic, Tracker and Mars until we get GLUTEN FREE variations!
GREEN & BLACK:
Interestingly, Green and Blacks used to be labelled as “Dairy Free” but they have changed their labelling and ingredients to state “may contain nuts and milk”. This is due to shared production facilities where Milk Chocolate bars are made on the same line as Dark Chocolate bars (which do not usually include Milk). On their website, they state “Some of our products are suitable for people who have to avoid gluten in their diet. Please visit our nutrition page summarising what the “contains symbols” for each product and those which do not. Although some of our products do not use cereal ingredients, they are produced in a factory that does handle them and therefore there are risks of cross contact“.
So from their own website, I have listed out the Chocolate Bars which are made without any cereal or GLUTEN CONTAINING Ingredients as individuals will have to take the decision whether to risk cross contamination.
Dark Chocolate Bars do not contain milk as an ingredient with the exception of the Burnt Toffee which states “Butter from Milk” whereas the Milk Chocolate versions usually do!
Lindt are a controversial Chocolatier and I debated whether to include them into my review of Chocolate Bars as several versions do contain barley extract (such as the Extra Creamy Excellence Bar) and Lindt make the point of cross-contamination in their literature (similarly to Green & Blacks) specifically on their FAQ on the USA Website. Therefore, if you are very sensitive to “may contain wheat” then, avoiding Lindt is probably best.
The following bars contain no GLUTEN in their ingredients:
But read the labels (for example, the Extra Creamy Excellence Bar contains barley malt powder:)
Tolberone confirm on their website that they do not contain “any GLUTEN ingredients” in any of their products.
This information was correct as of August 2014. The links should take you to relevant manufacturer’s pages where the latest information should be available.
But as I am learning, ingredients do change and therefore you should always read the label and check for yourself whether it is GLUTEN FREE or not!