Product Reviews, Restaurant Reviews and Recipes: All GLUTEN FREE!
The Chocolate Company Divine launch two new Chocolate Bars, specifically for use in Baking as of 01 April 2016. As strong purveyors of Fair Trade Chocolate since 1998, the company was once owned by The Body Shop before transferring ownership to Kuapa Kokoo Co-operative in Ghana, where they support the farmers whom grow and provide the Coco Beans. These new bars will be available in a chunky 200g block format for convenient melting, and have been adapted from the brand’s existing range of popular 100g bars. Initially it will be available in a 70% Dark Chocolate Bar and 35% Milk Chocolate Bar.
As baking continues to be a modern phenomenon, using a specific Baking Chocolate Bar may help in ensuring a strong Chocolate Flavour without losing some of the taste. Whilst I haven’t found these in shops as yet, from their website it is stated that they are made with NO GLUTEN CONTAINING Ingredients but many of the Divine Chocolate products (like their Easter Eggs) state a “May contain WHEAT” as they are “manufactured in an environment where NUTS, MILK, GLUTEN and WHEAT are present“.
Ingredients: Cocoa mass, sugar, cocoa butter, sunflower lecithin (emulsifier), vanilla.
Cocoa solids: 70% minimum.
And remember I love my Chocolate Bars, Chocolate Bags and Chocolate Boxes, and more recently, my Chocolate Easter Eggs from Chocolatiers and Chocolate manufacturers, High Street Stores and London Department Stores.
If you are a member of Coeliac UK, they produce a comprehensive directory which covers over 16,000 food and drink items (including GLUTEN FREE Chocolate Bars). This is available in a paper-based Manual and online FREE to members of Coeliac UK.
SIGN UP so you do not miss out on future updates to the Chocolate Bar listing, Chocolate Bags and Boxes, as well as new Restaurant Reviews, Travelling experiences, Food Shows, Product Reviews and (occasional) Recipes. Also check out my posts on GLUTEN FREE Ice Cream, GLUTEN FREE Advent Calendars, GLUTEN FREE Mince Pies and GLUTEN FREE Valentines Treats.
This information was correct as of April 2016.
But as I am learning, ingredients do change and therefore you should always read the label and check for yourself whether it is GLUTEN FREE or not!