GlutenFreePSD

Product Reviews, Restaurant Reviews and Recipes: All GLUTEN FREE!

Flying GLUTEN FREE: Virgin America (Dallas to New York City)…

I was surprised by the selection of GLUTEN FREE “snacks” on my Virgin America domestic flight from Dallas to La Guardia (NYC) as I always travel with lots of food and snacks as you never quite know, as a Coeliac, whether you’ll be feed: it’s better to be safe than sorry: stuck in a metal tube!

Virgin America

Virgin America

The airline is quite a “modern” take on the domestic carrier and interesting to see that air-travel in America is making a Renaissance with many of the carriers now offering passengers “free” refreshments. Virgin America offer these complimentary to First passengers as well as those travelling in Main Cabin Select (seated in the front rows of Economy) which is where we were. There is a modern “purple” light running down the whole aircraft and a glass panel dividing First from Economy, without dusty old curtains. Even the leather seats in Economy are comfortable and roomy.

Selecting "snacks" onboard Virgin America

Selecting “snacks” onboard Virgin America

They are utilising touch-screens on the Inflight Entertainment System, so you can “order” your snack ahead of the Crew coming round. Whilst it seems a good idea, I ordered 7 items (all free) as we were seated in Main Cabin Select and I am guessing that you are entitled only to five items as I only received some of my selection, so maybe they need to make clear what the “rules” are.

What impressed me more was the allergen information and detail of the “snacks” so I was able to know which items were GLUTEN FREE ahead of reading the ingredients /packaging.

My 4 "Snack" items (plus non-pictured Apple Juice).

My 4 “Snack” items (plus non-pictured Apple Juice).

So I ordered an Apple Juice and some GLUTEN FREE Brownies, GLUTEN FREE Crisps, GLUTEN FREE M&M’s and a “Protein Box”: which I knew had one item which contain WHEAT but the rest was Gluten Free.

My Protein Box

My Protein Box

With the exception of the La Panzanella Crackers (contain WHEAT FLOUR), the rest of the contents was GLUTEN FREE. It included Bumble Bee Lemon pepper Tuna (a tin of Tuna fish to eat with a plastic fork!), Pack of Emerald’s natural Almonds, Sriracha Hummus which I ate with the Breaking News Veggie Chips and Cranberry Raisin Fruit Mix. I think this was a good selection which kept me occupied whilst we flew across the USA. And whilst the Crackers were disappointing ignored, I also had my M&M’s, another bag of crisps (chips) and my Hail Merry Chocolate Brownies. (Of course, these provided me with snacks to take off, as I didn’t eat all of this but on our plane ticket: these were FREE!)

Other flights reviewed on my blog include: BA (Club World Business 2015)Emirates (Business 2015), BA (Traveller Plus 2014), Thai Airlines (Business 2014), Dragon Air (Business 2014), Cathay Pacific (Business 2014), BA (Club World Business 2014)BA (Club World Business 2013) and  BA (First 2015).

Happy Flying and Happy GLUTEN FREE Meals!

(Click on the picture to open up the reviews):

GF on British Airways

GF on Cathay Pacific

GF on Dragon Air


If you “Like” my Facebook page you will automatically receive new posts into your Facebook Newsfeed.


If you are a member of Coeliac UK, they produce a comprehensive directory which covers over 16,000 food and drink items (including GLUTEN FREE Chocolate Bars). This is available in a paper-based Manual and online FREE to members of Coeliac UK. They have also published an Easter listing (although it is not as visually EGG-citing asPart 1: Chocolatier & Chocolate Manufacturers, or Part 2: High Street Supermarket Chocolate Easter Postings).

One of the hard-hitting posters from Coeliac UK for Awareness Week.

One of the hard-hitting posters from Coeliac UK for Awareness Week.

One of the hard-hitting posters (featuring Yours Truly) from Coeliac UK launched for Awareness Week in 2015 and to be seen later in 2016.


Other destinations reviewed on my blog includes the USA (Texas,  NYC,Boston and Philadelphia), Brazil,  Singapore,Malaysia, Thailand, UAE and London!

And COMING SOON: Disney Cruise Line Lunches, Breakfasts & Snacking, Walt Disney World and Universal Studios Orlando & Universal’s Islands of Adventure.


SIGN UP so you do not miss out on future updates to the Chocolate Bar listing, Chocolate Bags and Boxes, as well as new Restaurant Reviews, Travelling experiences, Food Shows,  Product Reviews and (occasional) Recipes. Also check out my posts on GLUTEN FREE Ice Cream, GLUTEN FREE Advent Calendars, GLUTEN FREE Mince Pies  and GLUTEN FREE Valentines Treats.


This information was correct as at publishing in April 2016.


 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow GlutenFree PSD and receive notifications of all my new posts by email.

