GlutenFreePSD

Product Reviews, Restaurant Reviews and Recipes: All GLUTEN FREE!

Eating GLUTEN FREE @Hugh Fernley Whittingstall’s River Cottage Canteen, Plymouth…

When down in Devon, it is always a delight to go to a River Cottage restaurant. I’m pretty sure watching his series inspired me to get my own Allotment at some point and I know from previous visits to the Canteen in Axminster last year and the year before, and the Canteen in Plymouth last year and the year before, Coeliacs are well looked after, with no fuss, no mess and no awkward feelings.

Down in the Docks (Plymouth’s Royal William Yard), The River Cottage Canteen (and Deli) opened in 2011 offering organic, seasonally rotating dishes that change on a daily basis. They are located in the converted Old Brewhouse building and on the edge of the Royal William Yard with view out to see (if you get a window table!). On the evening that we visited, I was excited that our waiter was able to quickly cross of just a handful of dishes from the Menu, as much of the selection could be made GLUTEN FREE. I went for the “River Cottage Cumberland Sausages served with caramelized Red Onions on a bed of mashed potatoes and rich gravy” I was excited to be having a proper Cumberland sausage as mostly I have meaty ones that lack deep flavour as many contain GLUTEN. Clearly, I was feeling rather hungry as despite the accompanying vegetables, I also ordered a portion of “Canteen Chips and Rosemary Salt” as I had spotted them on a neighbouring table and they looked delicious and fellow dinners were cooing about the chips.

My GF Main Course @River Cottage Canteen

My GF Main Course @River Cottage Canteen

My side portion of GF Fries with Rosemary Salt

My side portion of GF Fries with Rosemary Salt

My GLUTEN FREE Dinner did not disappoint. It was floating in a good portion of rich meaty gravy which was neither too thick nor too runny and the sausage had a spicy flavoursome taste. The sweetness of the red onions contrasted well with the hot serving dish of dinner and I enjoyed dipping my well cooked crunchy fries into the gravy. (I think these had been triple cooked as they had a crunchy edge but a soft and warm inside). Of course, I didn’t have room for dessert having consumed a Main Course and a Side simultaneously but they had a decent selection of GLUTEN FREE offerings.

The new GF Cookbook

The new GF Cookbook

Whilst it was exciting to see the “River Cottage Gluten Free” Cookbook, I was surprised that they were selling at £20, given that Amazon.co.uk and other websites have it priced significantly cheaper. It was not signed by either Hugh or the GF Chef Naomi Devlin so not sure why anyone would purchase it from them at that price! I did flick through the book but already have several cookbooks and only really rely on good-old Delia Smith in my well-worn cookbook so I didn’t indulge.

But on a more positive note, I spotted an exciting notice which might infact be overkill:

GF Wednesdays at River Cottage Canteen

GF Wednesdays at River Cottage Canteen

The River Cottage Canteen have introduce a Monthly GLUTEN FREE ONLY NIGHT with their Head Chef adapting all dishes on the Menu. I suggest this is overkill as most of the dishes are able to be adapted on their regular daily-changing menu although it would be nice for a special occasion to have a complete selection knowing it is ALL GLUTEN FREE. Dates include 20/07/16, 17/08/16, 23/09/16, 19/10/16 and 16/11/16. In reality, it’s a pretty long way from London to pop down for a GLUTEN FREE evening but I am sure it suits local Coeliacs.

so Thank You Hugh Fernley Whittingstall for a straight-forward wholesome and tasty GLUTEN FREE Dinner @River Cottage Canteen.

This post was correct as on publication in July 2016.


Other Gourmet Dining experiences in London and rather special-treat GLUTEN FREE meals reviewed on my blog in London include GF Lunch at The Wolseley,  Hunan in Belgravia,  Afternoon Tea at the Shangri-la Hotel up the Shard, Searcys at the GherkinAfternoon Tea at Fortnums & Mason, GF Lunch at The IvyGF Lunch at Niche (100% GF), Skylon at the Royal Festival Hall and Galvins at Windows, Hilton Park Lane.


If you are a member of Coeliac UK, they list out their Accredited restaurants as well as produce a Comprehensive Directory which covers over 16,000 food and drink items (available in a paper-based Manual and online FREE to members of Coeliac UK)

One of the hard-hitting posters from Coeliac UK for Awareness Week.

One of the hard-hitting posters from Coeliac UK for Awareness Week (featuring Yours Truly)  launched for Awareness Week in 2015 and in 2016 featured in The Netherlands in their Coeliac campaign.


SIGN UP so you do not miss out on future updates to the  as well as new Restaurant Reviews, Product Reviews and (occasional) Recipes. Also check out my posts on GLUTEN FREE Chocolate Boxes, GLUTEN FREE Chocolate BarsGLUTEN FREE Ice Cream, GLUTEN FREE Advent Calendars, GLUTEN FREE Mince Pies,  GLUTEN FREE Easter Eggs and GLUTEN FREE Valentines Treats.


 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow GlutenFree PSD and receive notifications of all my new posts by email.

