Product Reviews, Restaurant Reviews and Recipes: All GLUTEN FREE!
When I was younger, the choice was Vimto or Ribena: there was no compromise: you were either one or the other. It’s a it like A Republican or a Democrat, or for the Brits: In or Out! And I confess my preference has always been Ribena. (Recently, I attended the Ribena Colouring-In Cafe experience in London which was lots of fun! and I do enjoy a healthy amount of the Blackcurrant cordial drink!
Vimto has a distinctive taste: described by themselves as “our secret formula includes a mix of three fruit juices – grape, blackcurrant and raspberry – along with a mysterious blend of 23 fruit essences, herbs and spices” so it’s not really as sweet and pure as Ribena! It’s GLUTEN FREE: On the Vimto Website they state: “Vimto is classed as gluten-free. There is a very small amount of gluten present which carries through from the barley malt used in its manufacture, but the level is far below the threshold above which it would be considered to contain gluten (20 parts per million).”
Created in Manchester, it was originally launched as a herbal tonic that gave the drinker ‘Vim & Vigour’, Vimtonic (as it was known then) which soon became known simply as Vimto. The squash /ready-to-drink is now an International Brand with Fizzy, Squash, Still and Water Enhancer ranges as well as a huge selection of “sweets”: which are GLUTEN FREE:
Vimto Candy Floss: Ingredients: Sugar, Vimto Flavour (Including Extracts of Fruits, Herbs, and Spices), Natural Colours (Anthocyanins, Cochineal).
Vimto Bon Bons: Ingredients: Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Water, Vegetable Oil, Citric Acid, Humectant (Sorbitol Syrup), Beef Gelatine, Dextrose, Colours (Anthocyanins, Beetroot Red), Vimto® Flavouring, Concentrated Fruit Juices (White Grape, Blackcurrant, Raspberry) (0.2%), Emulsifier (SOYA Lecithins). States “May contain MILK”
Vimto Lollipops: Ingredients: Glucose Syrup, Sugar, Citric Acid, Fruit Juice from Concentrate 0.5% (Grape, Blackcurrant, Raspberry), Vimto Flavouring (including extracts of fruit, herbs and spices), Natural Colour (E163). Contains Sulphur Dioxide, Traces of SOYA.
Vimto Chewy Sweets: Ingredients: Glucose Syrup, Sugar, Vegetable Oil, Mixed Fruit Juice from concentrate 2.5% (Grape, Blackcurrant, Raspberry), Lactic Acid, Egg White, Vimto Flavouring (including natural extracts of fruit, herbs and spices), Citric Acid, Hydrolysed Rice Protein, Colour: Anthocyanin.
Vimto Tongue Ticklers: Ingredients: Glucose Syrup, Sugar, Vegetable Oil, Mixed Fruit Juice from Concentrate 2.5% (Grape, Blackcurrant, Raspberry), Citric Acid, Lactic Acid, Egg White, Vimto Flavouring (including Natural Extracts of Fruit, Herbs and Spices), Hydrolysed Rice Protein, Colour: Anthocyanin. Contains EGG
And for the Summer, you can enjoy:
Vimto Ice Lollies: Ingredients: Water, Sugar, Dextrose, Glucose Syrup, Mixed Fruit Juices from Concentrate (1.1%) (Grape, Blackcurrant, Raspberry), Natural Colour (Anthocyanins), Acid (Citric Acid), Vimto Flavouring (including Natural Extracts of Fruit, Herbs and Spices), Stabilisers (Locust Bean Gum, Pectin), Acidity Regulator (Trisodium Citrate) States “May contain NUTS”
Vimto Ice Pyramids: Ingredients: Water, Sugar, Mixed Fruit Juice from Concentrate (Grape, Blackcurrant and Raspberry) (8%), Acid (Citric Acid), Stabiliser (Guar Gum, Sodium Alginate, Carrageenan), Vimto Flavouring (including Natural Extracts of Fruits, Herbs and Spices), Natural Colour (Anthocyanin), Preservatives (Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate), Antioxidant (Ascorbic Acid)
And Vimto Ice Pops: Ingredients: Water , Sugar , Mixed Fruit Juice from Concentrate (Grape, Blackcurrant, and Raspberry) (4%) , Acid (Citric Acid) , Vimto Flavoring (Including Natural Extracts of Fruits, Herbs and Spices) , Natural Colour (Anthocyanin) , Stabiliser (Carboxymethyl Cellulose) , Preservatives (Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate) , Sweeteners (Sucralose, Acesulfame K) .
And remember I love my Chocolate Bars, Chocolate Bags and Chocolate Boxes, and more recently, my Chocolate Easter Eggs from Chocolatiers and Chocolate manufacturers, High Street Stores and London Department Stores.
If you are a member of Coeliac UK, they produce a comprehensive directory which covers over 16,000 food and drink items (including GLUTEN FREE Chocolate Bars). This is available in a paper-based Manual and online FREE to members of Coeliac UK.
SIGN UP so you do not miss out on future updates to the Chocolate Bar listing, Chocolate Bags and Boxes, as well as new Restaurant Reviews, Travelling experiences, Food Shows, Product Reviews and (occasional) Recipes. Also check out my posts on GLUTEN FREE Ice Cream, GLUTEN FREE Advent Calendars, GLUTEN FREE Mince Pies and GLUTEN FREE Valentines Treats.
This information was correct as of August 2016.
But as I am learning, ingredients do change and therefore you should always read the label and check for yourself whether it is GLUTEN FREE or not!