GlutenFreePSD

Product Reviews, Restaurant Reviews and Recipes: All GLUTEN FREE!

Eating GLUTEN FREE in Montreal, Canada (in Autumn 2016) including Tutti Frutti, Mangiafoco and L’entrecote Saint-Jean…

So our last stop in Canada was Montreal where despite the language challenges, I found some interesting GLUTEN FREE meals. A great exciting city of Cathedrals, a lovely Port and of course good foodie stops:

Tutti Frutti: I was brought into this eatery as on the large Menus outside, it was noticeable that they offered GLUTEN FREE Crepes alongside their regular offerings. The picture Menu looked so tempted and was well labelled. All dishes either came with a fruity salad or fruity accompaniments and they large restaurant was busy with families, friends and groups. In the UK, wasn’t aware of this chain but I enjoyed the Crepe with Swiss Cheese, Ham and my side salad (without the fruity bits as I had eaten them before I started). Those who follow my Blog will know that I also have an EGG YOLK allergy and a few hours later, I was a little ill as clearly the Crepe was light and freshly cooked (and probably included a couple of eggs). Such a shame as at the time, I really enjoyed this Crepe. I can’t remember the last time I had one.

Mangiafoco Restaurant: located quite close to the Notre Dame Cathedral, and a few streets from the Port, this Italian is a modern bar /restaurant on Rue Saint Paul Ouest. I had done my research and knew that they offered “GLUTEN FREE pizza bases for all their pizzas” as well as other items (such as their famous selection of Mozzarella cheese) which were naturally GLUTEN FREE. I had the Prosciutto Pizza (with tomato sauce, prosciutto, Mozzarella fior di latter and Arugula).

This was a tasty and filling pizza although I found the prosciutto, after being cooked on the pizza seemed to bring out a lot of salt. Of course, it’s too big for one person but I knew it was fresh and GLUTEN FREE.

L’entrecote Saint-Jean: A super traditional French restaurant: ideal for a relaxed lunch. They have a very simple and straight-forward Menu which is all GLUTEN FREE and it is a selection of the same variety that they offer: We opted for the Pea Soup to start (or you could have had a salad) which was delicious and creamy. A thick-enough soup with a great depth of flavour. And the main course was steak, frites and sauce. I had asked for the sauce on the side but something got lost in translation but it amazingly good. It had a slight mustard kick to the sauce but the steak was a generous portion and the fries benefited from being dipped in the sauce. Some of the Menu’s offered profiteroles but after these two-courses, there was no room for yet more food. A lovely French GLUTEN FREE meal in the heart of Montreal.


If you are a member of Coeliac UK, they produce a comprehensive directory which covers over 16,000 food and drink items (including GLUTEN FREE Chocolate Bars). This is available in a paper-based Manual and online FREE to members of Coeliac UK.

One of the hard-hitting posters from Coeliac UK for Awareness Week.

One of the hard-hitting posters (featuring Yours Truly) from Coeliac UK launched for Awareness Week in 2015 and now showing in The Netherlands. This was accurate as at October 2016.


Other destinations reviewed on my blog includes the USA (Texas,  NYCBoston and Philadelphia), Brazil,  SingaporeMalaysia, Thailand, UAE andLondon!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow GlutenFree PSD and receive notifications of all my new posts by email.

