Product Reviews, Restaurant Reviews and Recipes: All GLUTEN FREE!

Recalled: GLUTEN FREE Easter Eggs by Lindt…

Lindt & Sprüngli (UK) Limited (“Lindt”) has alerted consumers in the UK that certain Easter Eggs do not correctly identify a potential allergen in the product. This has been confirmed by the Food Standards Agency in the UK:

As a result of an error during the co-packing process, certain Lindt shell eggs were placed in the incorrect packaging: leading to the wrong product in the wrong box! So where they should be a milk egg it has been place in dark egg packaging or where a milk egg has been placed in white egg packaging. Whilst the confusion may be obvious Lindt also acknowledge that the label does not list barley malt extract as an ingredient and therefore  this error makes them a possible health risk for anyone with an allergy or intolerance to barley. Strangely there is no risk to consumers who are intolerant to gluten. The batch details of affected products are below:

Product: Lindt Excellence Dark Extra Fine Shell Egg
‘Best before’ end: October 2017
Pack size: 220g
Batch code: LS7018

Product: Lindor Strawberry & Cream Shell Egg
‘Best before’ end: July 2017
Pack size: 285g
Batch code: L6334

No other Lindt & Sprungli Ltd products are known to be affected

If you have bought the above products and have an allergy or intolerance to barley, do not eat them. Instead return them to the store from where they were bought for a full refund.

And on my guide to GLUTEN FREE Chocolate Boxes has been broken into three separate guides for Chocolate Boxes: key Chocolate Producers Boxes, easily available Street Chocolate Boxes (including The Co-Op, Marks & Spencer, Morrisons, Sainsburys, Tescos and Waitrose) and Decadent Chocolate Boxes (including Fortnum & Masons, Harrods and Selfridges).

SIGN UP so you do not miss out on future updates to the Chocolate Bar listing, as well as new Restaurant Reviews, Travelling experiences, Food Shows,  Product Reviews and (occasional) Recipes. Also check out my posts on GLUTEN FREE Ice Cream, GLUTEN FREE Advent Calendars, GLUTEN FREE Mince Pies,  GLUTEN FREE Easter Eggs and GLUTEN FREE Valentines Treats.

This information was correct as of March 2017.

But as I am learning, ingredients do change and therefore you should always read the label and check for yourself whether it is GLUTEN FREE or not!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on March 28, 2017 by in News & Views and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow GlutenFree PSD and receive notifications of all my new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: