Product Reviews, Restaurant Reviews and Recipes: All GLUTEN FREE!
Thorntons, the major Chocolate Producer with stores across the UK’s High Streets has recalled its Dark Chocolate Easter Egg with a Personalised Iced Message because the icing contains milk which is not mentioned on the label. This means the product is a possible health risk for anyone with an allergy or intolerance to milk or milk constituents as this product contains milk making it a possible health risk for anyone with an allergy or intolerance to milk or milk constituents.
They have advised, via the Food Standards Agency that “If you have bought the product with a personalised message and have an allergy or intolerance to milk or milk constituents, do not eat it. Instead return it to the store from where it was bought for a full refund“.
The affected product is:
Product: Thorntons Dark Chocolate Easter Egg with a Personalised Iced Message
Pack size: 265g
Date: All dates
Batch codes: All batches
No other Thorntons products are known to be affected.
Thorntons was established in 1911 by Joseph William Thornton and is now owned by Ferrero SpA (who also own Nutelkla, Ferrero Rocher and Kinder!). With a mix of 249 shops and 186 franchises they remain a significant player in the confectionery market with a focus upon Chocolates, Toffee & Fudge as well as novelties, decorations and gift Chocolate items.
And remember I love my revised Chocolate Box guide (based upon Chocolatier Producers, Chocolate Boxes on the High Street and Luxurious Chocolate Boxes), Chocolate Bars, Chocolate Bags, my Chocolate Easter Eggs (based upon Chocolatier Producers such as Cadbury & Nestle, High Street Own-Label including M&S, Lidl & Tescos and Decadent Department stores including Fortnum & Mason & Harrods).
SIGN UP so you do not miss out on future updates to the Chocolate Bar listing, as well as new Restaurant Reviews, Travelling experiences, Food Shows, Product Reviews and (occasional) Recipes. Also check out my posts on GLUTEN FREE Ice Cream, GLUTEN FREE Advent Calendars, GLUTEN FREE Mince Pies and GLUTEN FREE Valentines Chocolate Treats.
This information was correct as of April 2017.
But as I am learning, ingredients do change and therefore you should always read the label and check for yourself whether it is GLUTEN FREE or not!