Product Reviews, Restaurant Reviews and Recipes: All GLUTEN FREE!
Following several popular popups,the official Nutella café run by Ferrero themselves has opened in Chicago, USA. Of course, Pure Nutella is GLUTEN FREE but not all the products on offer at this stand-alone cafe will be GLUTEN FREE so be careful.
https://www.nutella.com/en/usNutella was created by an Italian bakery owner called Pietro Ferrero in the 1940s. He decided to try and create a cheaper alternative to chocolate, which, due to the Second World War, was in short supply. It was made by combining hazelnuts, which were easily available locally, and a little cocoa; Nutella name came about as a result of combining the English word ‘nut’ and the Latin suffix for sweet – ‘ella’. For many years, Italian shops would offer children who came in with a slice of bread a free smear of Nutella to put on it and in 2012, French proposals to increase tax increase on palm oil – one of Nutella’s main ingredients – sparked an international row. The amendment became known as the ‘Nutella tax’. It is reported by Nutella that at the start of 2015, one jar of Nutella was sold every 2.5 seconds worldwide.
The Menu for the Nutella cafe includes (highlighted in BOLD suggested GLUTEN FREE options):
Nutella, Fior di Latte, or Affogato
Family Style Nutella Fondue With fresh fruit of assorted shortbread.
If you are a member of Coeliac UK, they produce a comprehensive directory which covers over 16,000 food and drink items (including GLUTEN FREE Chocolate Bars). This is available in a paper-based Manual and online FREE to members of Coeliac UK.
SIGN UP so you do not miss out on future updates to the Chocolate Barlisting, Chocolate Bags and Boxes by Producers, Chocolate Boxes by High Street stores and Chocolate Boxes by Decadent Department Stores, as well as new Restaurant Reviews, Travelling experiences, Food Shows, Product Reviews and (occasional) Recipes. Also check out my posts on GLUTEN FREE Ice Cream, GLUTEN FREE Advent Calendars, GLUTEN FREE Mince Pies and GLUTEN FREE Valentines Treats.
This information was correct as of July 2017.
But as I am learning, ingredients do change and therefore you should always read the label and check for yourself whether it is GLUTEN FREE or not!