GlutenFreePSD

Product Reviews, Restaurant Reviews and Recipes: All GLUTEN FREE!

Tasting GLUTEN FREE Cream Filled Profiteroles with Belgian Chocolate Sauce by Tesco…

I’ve been rather jealous when I’ve seen these on various Facebook Groups as my local Tescos is too small to have many “Free From” products although they have improved their selection, but definitely not large enough to have any of the frozen range, so visiting a larger Tesco Extra, I skipped for joy when I found these.

IMG_0024 (1)

Ingredients: Include MILK, EGG & SOYA! But free from GLUTEN & WHEAT

Found in the Freezer cabinets, these are part of the extended “Free From” range at Tesco and they after defrosting them for a few hours, I couldn’t resist opening up the box. I personally found it strange that they weren’t wrapped in cellophane but they had survived the journey and the supermarket shelves, they looked rather tempting.

Not bagged but rolling loose in the box.

Not bagged but rolling loose in the box.

Very uniformed and around 20 in my box. On some of the profiteroles you could see the pin prick that clearly had been used to fill them with the cream filling and even without the chocolate sauce, they did taste refreshing.

Tipped out, they do have crumbs!

Tipped out, they do have crumbs!

And of course, profiteroles are not profiteroles without the Chocolate Sauce. It was also covered in crumbs but now I’m being a little picky!

A sachet of Belgian Chocolate Sauce

A sachet of Belgian Chocolate Sauce

I was surprised to find two sachets of sauce which was a bonus: Maybe you should only receive one as I did cover the two portions with a whole sachet of Belgian Chocolate Sauce which was too much!

Belgian Chocolate Cream-Filled Profiteroles by Tesco

Belgian Chocolate Cream-Filled Profiteroles by Tesco

The sauce is runny and pours very easily over the profiteroles but I did find the sauce a little too sweet. It was shiny and glossy but after a few mouthfuls: it was a little sickly which might have been my generosity in using up all the Chocolate Sauce but a great GLUTEN FREE and WHEAT FREE treat for a special occasion.

Other cakes reviewed on my blog include recently launched M&S Desserts, cakes by Perky Cakery, cakes by Oree Patisserie and BTempted as seen in Fortnums & Masons.


SIGN UP so you do not miss out on future updates to the Chocolate Bar listing, Chocolate Bags and Boxes, as well as new Restaurant Reviews, Travelling experiences, Food Shows,  Product Reviews and (occasional) Recipes. Also check out my posts on GLUTEN FREE Ice Cream, GLUTEN FREE Advent Calendars, GLUTEN FREE Mince Pies  and GLUTEN FREE Valentines Treats.


This information was correct as at publishing in July 2016.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Enter your email address to follow GlutenFree PSD and receive notifications of all my new posts by email.